Harvey, Westmoreland to be honored PDF Print E-mail
Matt Harvey and Ryan Westmoreland, two players with roots in Southern New England, will attend the 2014 awards dinner of the Boston Chapter, BBWAA and be honored for their achievements.
Harvey, a native of Mystic, Conn. is the winner of the 2013 Ben Mondor Award for New England Player of the Year. He was 9-5 with a 2.27 ERA for the Mets before an elbow injury that eventually required surgery ended his season. Westmoreland, from Portsmouth, R.I, is being recognized with a special achievement award for his battle to regain his health after having a promising career as a Red Sox minor leaguer cut short by two serious brain surgeries.
They, other winners from the Red Sox and Major League Baseball will be honored, at the 75th Annual Awards Dinner, presented by New Balance and the Sports Museum of New England.

The dinner is set for 6 p.m. on Thursday, January 23, 2014 at The Westin Copley Place Hotel in Boston. Tickets are on sale for $200 each or $2,000 for a table of 10 and can be purchased online by credit card at The Sports Museum website or by calling 617-624-1231.
Tickets now on sale! PDF Print E-mail

Get your tickets now! Attend the 75th annual Boston Baseball Writers of America Awards Dinner presented by New Balance in partnership with The Sports Museum on Thursday, January 23, 2014.

In memory of Dave O'Hara PDF Print E-mail
The Boston Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America remembers Dave O'Hara, 86, who passed away after a battle with cancer in Winter Haven, Fla. on April 10, 2013.

Dave O'Hara, center, daughter Deborah O'Hara Rusckowski and her husband, Steve Rusckowski at the 2010 Boston BBWAA Awards Dinner

During his remarkable 50-year career as a sports writer and sports editor with the Associated Press, O'Hara covered every sport — basketball, football, hockey, boxing, golf and tennis — but his favorite was baseball, particularly Boston Red Sox spring training. O'Hara covered news events such as the Coconut Grove fire, the Brinks Robbery and numerous political campaigns, including traveling with John F. Kennedy during the 1960 presidential campaign.

In 1993, the Boston BBWAA established the Dave O'Hara Award for long and meritorious service for the chapter in his honor. O'Hara was the award's first recipient. 

We will miss him.

Photo: Dave O'Hara, center, with daughter Deborah O'Hara Rusckowski and her husband Steve Rusckowski at the 2010 Boston BBWAA Awards Dinner. (Brita Meng Outzen)
Honorees attending awards dinner PDF Print E-mail
The following award winners have committed to attend the 74th annual awards dinner of the Boston Chapter of the BBWAA:
  • Fuchs Award winner Terry Francona
  • Manager of the Year Buck Showalter
  • Executive of the Year Mike Rizzo
  • Tim Wakefield Award winner Jarrod Saltalamacchia
  • Jackie Jensen Award winner Mike Aviles
  • Fireman of the Year Andrew Miller
  • Comeback Player of the Year and Lou Gorman Award winner Daniel Nava
  • Greg Montalbano Minor League Player of the Year winner Jackie Bradley, Jr.
  • Ben Mondor Award winner Tim Collins
  • Former Red Sox Award winners Joe Morgan and Jody Reed
Also committed to attend are Boston Red Sox outfielder Jonny Gomes, Red Sox general manager Ben Cherington and Red Sox manager John Farrell. Master of ceremonies is Mike Lynch of WCVB.
The event will be held on Thursday, January 24 at The Westin Copley Place Hotel in Boston, with the cocktail reception beginning at 6 PM and the dinner at 7 PM. Tickets are $175 apiece and are available at the door. 
Nava takes Comeback Award PDF Print E-mail

Returning to the Red Sox every-day lineup in 2012 after spending a full season in the minor leagues, outfielder Daniel Nava is the winner of the team’s Comeback of the Year Award as voted by members of the Boston Chapter, BBWAA.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 9