La Russa named Fuchs Award winner PDF Print E-mail
The Boston Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America has named Tony La Russa the 2011 winner of the Judge Emil Fuchs Award.
The Judge Emil Fuchs Award, presented annually by the Boston Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America, honors long and meritorious service to baseball. It is named after the late owner of the Boston Braves.
Henry Aaron, Marvin Miller, Bud Selig and Carl Yastrzemski are among the previous Fuchs Award winners. Last year’s honoree was Boston Red Sox president Larry Lucchino.
La Russa ranks third in all-time victories by a Major League manager, trailing only Connie Mack and John McGraw. After managing the St. Louis Cardinals to the 2011 World Series championship, La Russa retired from baseball.
La Russa will be at the head table to accept the award at the chapter's 73rd annual awards dinner at 7 p.m. on Thursday, January 19, 2012 at the Westin Copley Hotel in Boston.